Home » 27 Bangsamoro Student Quizzers compete in the 2023 National History Month Quiz Bowl

September 02, 2023

27 Bangsamoro Student Quizzers compete in the 2023 National History Month Quiz Bowl

In celebration of the 2023 National History Month with the theme “Pagpapalaya ng Kasaysayan para sa Sambayanan” (Democratizing History for the People), the Bangsamoro Commission for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage (BCPCH-BARMM) culminate the National History Month celebration through a Quiz Bowl Competition on August 30, 2023, at Las Hermanas Function Hall, Cotabato City.

Participated by 9 teams composed of 3 Junior High School Students per school within Cotabato City and nearby areas, the competition aimed to encourage and enhance the Bangsamoro students’ love and appreciation of the past, especially the Bangsamoro History.

Following the easy, average and difficult rounds facilitated by Quiz Master Datu Errol Jabbar U. Sinsuat, Jr., out of the nine schools, only three clinched as winners. These winners were awarded by the judges along with the BCPCH Executive Director Akmad D. Mama.

CHAMPION: Cotabato State University – Laboratory School (101 points)

Coach: Juhamed L. Baliwan


  • Arjam Shamsheera G. Dimalanao
  • Scherfaida S. Osalli
  • Shehan T. Salim


1st Runner-up: Notre Dame of Cotabato (89 points)

Coach: Christoper John Florece


  • Datu Bin Amir M. Karao
  • Edina Analysse Dayawan
  • Jaseem K. Chio


2nd Runner-up: Cotabato City National High School – Main Campus (84 points)

Coach: Roselle M. Maata


  • Durriyah M. Abdulnasser
  • Kristine Grace L. Muscosa
  • Shanarayne C. Ampatuan

Dr. Badrudin K. Abdul, Dr. Edna H. Cereneo, and Bai Putri Morayah A. Amil served as Resident Judges of the said competition. BCPCH Chairperson Salem Y. Lingasa, Ph.D., underscored in his Message that whatever the result of the competition, these schools along with their participants are already considered winners.

“August is a history month that is identity-based. Looking into our current situation, it is quite challenging to find historians or history teachers who can teach the Bangsamoro history. Therefore, based on our viewpoints, the standard and quality of education for students must be enhanced in terms of their knowledge and understanding of Bangsamoro history.” –  Chairperson added.

BCPCH-BARMM sends its gratitude to the following schools who participated along with the quizzers and their coaches:

  1. Sultan Kudarat Islamic Academy, Agape School
  2. CAEC-CAMCOP, Inc.
  3. CCNHS-Annex – PC Hill Site
  4. Datu Siang National High School
  5. Notre Dame of Cotabato
  6. CCNHS-Main Campus
  7. Canizares National High School – SAT
  8. Notre Dame – RVM College of Cotabato
  9. Cotabato State University – Laboratory School

The Commission also expressed its profound sympathy to Ibn Taymiyah Foundation Academy, Inc. who was not able to participate during the competition due to miscoordination.

The National History Month celebration is spearheaded by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP). The theme is inline with the recently concluded 125th Anniversary of Philippine Independence and Nationhood held last June 2023.

Apart from the BCPCH Chairperson and the Executive Director presence, also in attendance during the program were: Chief of Administration Jobayra P. Tandalong, Chief of Operations Aaron-Jeff D. Usman, and the rest of the Commission’s employees, and observers coming from the schools who participated.

BCPCH is the primary institution in preserving the history, culture, arts, tradition, and rich cultural heritage of the Bangsamoro people across the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The Commission is currently under the leadership of Chairperson Salem Y. Lingasa, Ph.D.